Silkygirl Gentle Eye and Lip Makeup Remover Review

NO! I didn’t abandon FiercePaint!!! *overtly melodramatic facial expression*

Hahaha!

Anyway, I just moved into a new place right now and so snapping pictures for the blog has required some adjustment. That’s the reason why I haven’t been posting as often as I previously did.

With that, the teeny tiny announcement here is that pictures on FiercePaint is going to get revamped, with hopefully better outcomes.

However, pictures from this post were taken with the old setting.

This is a review of the Silkygirl Gentle Eye and Lip Makeup Remover. I did have a small full sized bottle of this and I did feature this in a Product Empties post (here) but I only had this 25ml free-with-purchase bottle with me at the moment.

The product.

The product.

Description on the other side of the bottle.

Description on the other side of the bottle.

Had to take a shot with a dark background because it was a white translucent bottle. You can see the words on the bottle clearly now.

Had to take a shot with a dark background because it was a white translucent bottle. You can see the words on the bottle clearly now.

Description on the other side of the bottle.

Description on the other side of the bottle.

It is one of those double layered makeup removers consisting of oil and cleansing water.

It is one of those double layered makeup removers consisting of oil and cleansing water. It needs to be shaken well before use.

 

Description: It is a dual-layer makeup remover which is supposed to be gentle. It is also supposed to remove all waterproof makeup.

Where to buy: Most drugstores and supermarkets.

Price: MYR 16.90 for 110ml bottle and MYR 9.90 for 55ml bottle. Prices differ with different purchase outlets and as always drugstore products are always on discounts!

 

I put the makeup remover to a small test.

I have the works, pigmented eyeshadows, cream eyeshadow, waterproof liquid liner, and liquid to matte lipstick (my first product regret is helping with these kind of :) ).

I have the works, liquid foundation and powder foundation (below the black horizontal line) pigmented eyeshadows, cream eyeshadow, waterproof liquid liner, and liquid to matte lipstick (my first product regret, link here, is helping with these kind of posts ๐Ÿ™‚ ). There’s definitely some waterproof makeup there!

I soaked a facial cotton with the remover and pressed it on my "artwork" :P for a few seconds before wiping it off (one swipe). Pretty impressive huh? The only reason the top part wasn't removed was because the cotton wasn't large enough to cover it.

I soaked a facial cotton with the remover and gently pressed it on my “artwork” ๐Ÿ˜› for a few seconds before wiping it off (one swipe). Pretty impressive huh? The only reason the top part wasn’t removed was because the cotton wasn’t large enough to cover it.

Seems like a lot of the product was removed with just one swipe albeit being soaked for a few seconds.

Seems like a lot of product was removed with just one swipe.

Used the other side of the facial cotton, and another to remove residual product. Two sufficed.

Used the other side of the facial cotton, and another to remove residual product. Two sufficed.

My skin after makeup removal. The pink patches are due to the liquid lisptick which does have the tendency to leave a stain.

My skin after makeup removal. The pink patches are due to the liquid lisptick which does have the tendency to leave a stain but most of the makeup has been sufficiently removed.

 

Pros:

I don’t have particularly sensitive eyes but as claimed it didn’t hurt my eyes. I guess the gentle claim is true in my case.

It does effectively remove waterproof makeup as evident from my little test.

Very affordable!

Unscented, which is always a pro, to me at least.

 

Cons:

My only con with this product is that, contrary to its claim, it does leave a slightly oily residue.

 

Rating:

8/10

I do like using this makeup remover but because I am not a fan of the oily residue, I only use it with stubborn waterproof makeup like liquid lipsticks or waterproof mascara.

 

PS: I have posted my second entry on LuxePaint! Go check it out! It’s a reading challenge which I think is worth undertaking if you happen to be an avid reader. Click on the picture to be redirected.

scrnshotreadingchallenge

 

9 thoughts on “Silkygirl Gentle Eye and Lip Makeup Remover Review

Leave a Reply

