Collaboration; Best Beauty Discoveries of 2016!!!

Again, we’re back at it. Fellow blogger Lakshmi (author of Big is Compatible, link here) and Instagrammers, Geetha (@geethavijaymakeup), and Esther (@estherkaurmann) and I have collaborated on Instagram to bring you our best beauty discoveries of 2016.

15876430_1823261017912139_2051322860705677312_n

I have 9 products all of which I discovered in 2016!

1. Maybelline Micellar Water (makeup remover)

Jpeg

I’ve already reviewed this, link here.

2. Nature Republic Aloe Vera Soothing Gel Mist

IMG_7394

I really wouldn’t know where to begin reviewing this so I am not going to. If you need a refreshing mist or even something to wet your makeup brush to pack product on, this is perhaps the most affordable mist you could use! Try it! It smells great and refreshes the skin.

3. Catrice Blush Artist Shading Palette in 010 Bronzeclat

IMG_8482

I am not a big fan of the highlighter trend and with that being said the two highlighters in this palette aren’t all that impressive anyway. But the deep matte blusher on the left is absolutely beautiful!!! Have yet to test out longevity but it blends beautifully and is perfect for dark skin!

4. Essence Shading Powder

IMG_4195

I purchased this towards the end of 2015 but only started using this in 2016 so I’d consider this a 2016 discovery. The bronzer is apparently a dupe for the Benefit Hoola bronzer. I’d have to check that out myself in the future. Again, I really don’t care for the highlighter but the bronzer blends easily and is pretty neutral so one could use it to contour as well.

5. Essence Mosaic Blush in 30, Kissed by the Sun

Jpeg

This is too light to show up as a blush on me but, because the mosaics are made up of both shimmery and matte components, they end up mixing into a perfect highlighter shade for dark skin! It is pretty subtle which is why I love this! I can get away with this even with boy makeup. I was gifted this by Lakshmi for my birthday! Thanks love!

6. Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

Jpeg

This is a perfect replacement for my Stila sponge which I had to part with. This one hasn’t torn yet and it does a good job. I do prefer the Stila sponge over this but this is much more affordable if purchased via an IG shop.

7. Makeup Revolution Blush in Sugar

Jpeg

I got this in a giveaway and it came all the way from England!!! I won this from Rachael, author of Helpless Whilst Drying (link here). Makeup Revolution was previously available in Malaysia but they somehow got lost into obscurity. This blush is amazing!

8. Breena Beauty Eye Essential Kit Makeup Brushes

How gorgeous are those brushes and the packaging too!!!

High quality, vegan, cruelty free brushes! I wrote an entire first impressions post on these brushes (link here). They now offer international shipping!

9. Etude House My Beauty Tool Face Brush 130 Contour

IMG_3233

I bought this in 2015 but only discovered its best use in 2016. I used this first as an eyeshadow blending brush but realised that MannyMua liked using makeup brushes with long loosely packed bristles to highlight, much like this one. Baby, I tried it with this brush and I was sold! I hate using a fan brush to highlight because of its sloppy nature. I don’t own one and don’t think I need to…

So there you go!

My best 2016 beauty discoveries!

PS: There’s one product there that isn’t included in this list but makes two appearances. It is the Essence Make Me Brow eyebrow gel mascara. It’s not here because it made my ride or die list (post link here) and I’ve reviewed it before (review link here).

7 thoughts on “Collaboration; Best Beauty Discoveries of 2016!!!

    • Thank you so SO much!!! I am loving my current header picture too! Crush a 12 year old blush and a 10 year old eyeshadow for that! YES, I keep my old makeup products in a separate container for this VERY purpose….
      I am so proud of the founder of that company Sabrina Tajudin! A fellow Malaysian reaching for the skies! I’ll continue to support her and I do hope she does more great things..

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

