Silkygirl Natural Brow Pencil Review

[UPDATED REVIEW]

I have reviewed several Silkygirl’s products (two mascaras here and here, makeup remover here, chubby stick here, and a retractable eyeliner here) and also put it in my top 5 most affordable Malaysian drugstore makeup brand (here).

This review is on the Silkygirl Natural Brow Pencil.

The product.

Name and code.

Description and ingredients.

Up close of the nib.

Swatch.

Description: Eyebrow pencil. Comes in two colours, 01 Soft Black and 02 Dark Brown. There’s a clear cap for protection and comes in 1.14 grams or about 0.04 oz.

Where to buy: Most drugstores and supermarket/hypermarkets in Malaysia.

Price: MYR 10.90 (it’s drugstore so wait for promos!!)

Bare brows.

For a black pencil (if used properly) it’s quite natural looking!

Pros:

It is cheap!

Black eyebrow pencil that isn’t too black so it has a natural finish.

Stays put (doesn’t just melt away with sweating).

 

Cons:

Very stiff and dry.

I never liked sharpening.

No spoolie.

 

Tip/Hack:

Use your hair dryer to slightly heat up stiff and dry eyebrow pencil to allow ease of application. Just a few seconds of exposure to the hot air will slightly loosen the product.

 

Rating;

6.8/10

It is a basic eyebrow pencil that I like because it matches my eyebrow colour. It may or may not work for you so discretion advised!

6 thoughts on “Silkygirl Natural Brow Pencil Review

  1. Aw I don’t mind sharpening. I always find the automatic pencils to contain so little product. Sharpening does waste some of the product but in general, they last longer. The stiff and dry aspect actually is a PRO for me – that’s how the Shu Uemura pencils are. I find the waxy pencils do not provide as natural of a look compared to a drier pencil formula.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree! But I don’t use them on a regular basis and so I find that even the mechanical ones last pretty long for me. Formula isn’t so much of a gripe with me; all it has to do is last long and blend well. I am more of a colour match snob. I need brow products to be as undetectable as possible. I’d stick to a more waxy product that lasts long, blends and is a good shade match rather than a drier formula that doesn’t last long, doesn’t blend well and doesn’t match my brows, AND vice versa. I’d work around how the formula feels as long as I get the finish I am looking for with no compromise on longevity. Does that make sense?

      Like

Leave a Reply

