5 Things About Makeup I DON’T Like, That Most People Do!

Watching YouTube videos, after YouTube videos, you’re almost conditioned into liking trends, products and techniques. We can all agree blindly hopping onto a bandwagon just because a YouTuber told us to, is not something we want to do, although we may appreciate the opinion of some. Beauty YouTubers get my eyes rolling, A LOT! I, in fact, have roasted beauty YouTubers in the past (go ahead, read it here and here, laugh).

But YouTube isn’t the demon here. I love YouTube. I love watching makeup videos, I love people caking on foundation and concealers on their face. Watching makeup being blended out with a makeup sponge is my visual therapy. It steadies my heart rate and brings down my stress levels. NO KIDDING!

I digress, anyway, there are certain, universally loved things/trends/products in makeup that make me go……..

Image from Giphy.com

All of these are norms by this point in the beauty industry and…… ummmmm……, you know what, just come along and I’ll explain.

 

These are in no particular order.

 

1. Highlighter

Yes, I DON’T LIKE HIGHLIGHTERS!

No, I am not specifically talking about the blinding trend on YouTube and Instagram these days.

NO, I don’t even like highlighting concealers!!!!

I especially hate it when MUAs go three or four shades lighter to conceal the under-eye area and to highlight! It works on lighter skin tones. On darker skin tone it looks FAKE! I prefer an even skin tone and I try to match the under-eye concealer or go, AT MOST, half a shade lighter. I find that on deeper skin tones, the eyes pop a little more when the under-eyes are not so overtly highlighted.

Alas, when doing stage makeup I can’t step away from it.

So it goes without saying that I also don’t care for shimmery highlighters. I have 2 highlighters both of which I didn’t purchase myself. Everything else is part of a palette in which I actually wanted the other shades in it instead of the highlighter.

I DON’T LIKE HIGHLIGHTERS!!!!!!!

 

2. Holographic anything

Anyone else get a headache with all these holographic packaging and highlighters!

Just me then.

ERGGHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

NO, I AM NOT KIDDING! This isn’t even the cynical me talking. This is not even satire!

I actually, PHYSICALLY get a headache!!!! It even makes me a little anxious!

NO!!!!!

PASS!!!!

 

3. The phrase “Holy Grail”

If you have one for 10 years, that’s a holy grail.

If it changes every year, please STFU!!!!!!!!!

“HOLY GRAIL” MY FOOT!!!!!!!!!!!

I find it so cliche. Everytime someone says this is my holy grail, it means they discount all possible products available in the market and no ONE person could have had used it all!

I have tried using the phrase and in my head I go, “YOU SOUND STUPID!”

 

4. Waterproof mascara

I know some of you are going……..

Yes, ladies and gentlemen. Part of why you don’t really see me reviewing waterproof mascaras, not ones that are hard to remove anyway, is because I don’t like them!!!

If I am using mascara, not a single drop of tear is coming out of my eyeballs nor is sweat coming ANYWHERE close to them!

I don’t cry at weddings because you don’t when you attend Indian weddings. You just laugh and the rest of the time get stressed trying to answer relatives asking about your marriage status (that’s a whole other conversation!!!).

I don’t wear makeup if I know I am going to sweat. ONLY exception being stage makeup! And even then, my waterproof mascaras are ones that come off with just water.

I DON’T LIKE WATERPROOF MASCARAS!

 

5. Online makeup shopping

This fittingly makes me the cavemen of the 21st century.

I have, of course, shopped online before, but every time I did (which you can count with both hands), I get a tiny panic attack after payment! WILL I be the victim of the dreaded product shattered and broken nightmare??!!!!

I have even said this on my blog. I don’t like online shopping and will only condone it when there are no other options! I want to touch, feel, swatch, hold, caress, look, compare, purchase and carry it out of the shop, safely in my hands!!!

If you really are concerned for me, then imagine me doing this.

Image from Tumblr.

NO, not the laughing face, the bitch face!

 

I hope you enjoyed reading!

20 thoughts on “5 Things About Makeup I DON’T Like, That Most People Do!

  1. I couldn’t agree more about the holy grail term and I am not particularly fond of Waterproof mascara too..lol After spending so much on highlighter, you realise that you don’t even need it in the Malaysian heat! 🀣

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I HATE waterproof mascaras. They aren’t worth the hassle to remove them. And I live in a rainy country and still hate themπŸ˜‚ Agree on online makeup shopping. I like to swatch and see things. I only buy repeat items online like concealers etc if I can’t get them in-store x

    Liked by 1 person

    • High five!
      I don’t even do repeat purchases! If I can find something in stores I buy them and if I can’t I find an alternative. Only if the alternative isn’t an option and I do want it to emotionally survive, then I look online. Even then, I’ve often not completed a transaction and the order just gets cancelled!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha, I like highlighters but very subtly. I find the popular trend to use such obvious metallic highlighters to look so fake in real life.
    Guilty as charged – I love holographic stuff ever since I was a KID! It’s so fun and nostalgic. But yes, they are bastardizing the trend. πŸ˜›
    I definitely use the term “HG” when I’ve been searching for it forever and finally found it! You don’t understand the obsession I get sometimes. Or maybe you do. πŸ˜‰
    I’m with you on the waterproof mascara – it hurts my eyeballs (something about the fumes they give off) and it pulls my lash out.
    I like online shopping because it’s often cheaper! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Even without debauchery of the holographic trend, I never understood the obsession. It is literally a physical aversion! I get an actual headache, NO KIDDING!
      The HG term in makeup just doesn’t make sense to me! Perhaps call it hitting the bullseye or a cathartic find. There should be but one holy grail shouldn’t there?
      Oooo, I agree, online shopping is definitely cheaper, especially with the offer of free shipping (during promotion or seasons) and EVEN THEN, NO! I hate that waiting for the product, I hate that strangers handle something I’ve already paid for and is mine, and I’m always deathly afraid of my products getting shipped wrongly or being broken (deathly afraid is rather superfluous and I’m sure there are return policies but even then, just the horror stories of online shopping, NO NO NO NO!).
      Thank you for always taking the time to read carefully and leaving well thought out comments! YOU ARE SIMPLY THE BEST STASHY!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ ❀ ❀ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I loveeeeeeeeeeeee online shopping! Though I have to tell you, I’m so glad I’m not the only one who hates the term “holy grail”. My inner asshole doubts 50% of the women who use this term even know where it was derived from, they just say it because it’s trendy. And I literally laughed out loud when you said, “If you have one for 10 years, that’s a holy grail. If it changes every year, please STFU!!!!!!!!!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sigh, just a little story, I was mocked by my best friend for not getting on board with online shopping. I am the literal caveman of the 21st century!
      Do these people know the origin of the term “holy grail”, which in itself shouldn’t be used so flippantly anyway; completely my personal opinion.
      I was being nice when I said every year. Some people change them every month! I mean SERIOUSLY???!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Rexall Beauty Blogger Event | stash matters

  6. Agree on the holy grail point. Online shopping though, I’ve had great experiences so far. It’s the only way to getting products that aren’t sold in Malaysian stores. And I’m ashamed to say, it’s quite addictive. I do my “online window shopping” quite often. For busy people who don’t have the time to visit stores, online is a good platform that shows varieties of products in one place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol, I don’t think any amount of endorsement is going to sway me into online shopping. And it’s not like I have not done it before. I do tonnes of online window shopping though but I’ve only ever purchased when there are absolutely NO other options!
      Which is why you perhaps won’t find products that aren’t locally available being reviewed on my blog. I don’t ever buy them! πŸ˜†

      Like

Leave a Reply

