MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation Review

Another MAC product review? What?

We all know MAC; they offer great products for a flawless finish but not necessarily the best to use if you wear makeup on a daily basis. MAC is all about full coverage, highly pigmented, well performing products. This is a review of the cult favourite Studio Fix Powder Foundation. I have two shades and both were preloved products that my cousin passed on to me because one was too dark for her and another was the wrong undertone. I’ve made both work for me! 😀

Outer packaging.

The back of the box. Ingredients list.

Shade name on the top of the box.

The product! So loved!

The label on the other one has peeled off. 😦 But this is how it looks like.

Can’t really tell the difference but the one on the right is NW43, the one on the left is NC42.

A closer look.

The mirror.

The section underneath for the puff.

Excuse the dirty puffs. I usually use brushes or the beauty blender so I don’t bother washing them unless I know I am going to be using it. The puffs are soft and pretty good to use.

An insignificant hand swatch. The colours did not pick up on camera!

But you can tell a tiny bit colour which is the NW 43.

Description: A powder foundation that comes in many shades, in two different undertones, and in 15 grams / 0.52 oz product.

Where to buy: MAC counters; counters are available in Penang, Pahang, Selangor, Wilayah Persekutuan, Johor, Sabah and Sarawak usually in shopping malls.

Price: MYR 150

 

This product is my go to and in fact I recently used it for a brow challenge for RiceDolls. Rice Dolls is a makeup community site for beauty creators around Asia; you can find them at RiceDolls.com. I used this powder to cover my under eyes.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BS7PjEDAxvs/?taken-by=harivain

https://www.instagram.com/p/BSs1sRvg-I1/?taken-by=harivain

 

Pros:

Full coverage.

Smooth and easy to blend.

Lasts very well on the skin.

Pretty good at oil controlling.

Doesn’t settle into lines if applied in controlled amounts.

The soft sponge is pretty amazing.

Lasts all day long even without a setting spray.

 

Cons:

It can get cakey if layered too much.

It can settle into lines if layered too much as well.

You will definitely feel it on the skin. Not particularly comfortable to wear.

 

Notes:

If you do have oily skin, the product does break down a tiny bit but nothing a quick touch up can’t fix. Make sure you blot of excess oil off the face before reapplication.

 

Rating:

8.4/10

I love this powder foundation but I haven’t used too many different powders from different brands to tell you that this is my holy grail. I’m used to it and this review is all the details I’ve known and experienced.

4 thoughts on “MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation Review

  1. I used to use this product religiously – I had a thing for powder foundations. Now, I find the coverage to be too mask like but it is very handy for on the go application like the gym. I agree, the sponge is really good – I usually save them even when I finish the product and use them for other powders!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment